Skin Rescue – Day 14

Viking-Vampire-eric-northman-25352882-900-702

Day 14 of no sugar. Day 23 of the I Quit Sugar program.

Today is rescue skin day. My skin is looking dead and lifeless. A few days into the I Quit Sugar program, it did look bright and shiny and I noticed a real difference, but since then it has just got dull and lifeless. I don’t even know how else to describe it. It is less red and blotchy than when I started the program but overall it looks worse than it did. I have mostly always had troubled skin for various reasons and I know that at the moment the bad skin is probably due to an extended detox period…understandable due to the high sugar consumption I was maintaing before I Quit Sugar, however it is dragging on a bit. So I need to do something about it!

So I am going to tackle it from 4 angles – NUTRITION, EXPELL TOXINS, NOURISH & RELAX

♣ NUTRITION – Yesterday, Day 13, I experimented with a raw foods lunch. It was delicious and I have a suspicion that I actually need to increase the raw foods in my diet to get increased nutrients. I have had another incredible ‘alive’ salad today for lunch.

 EXPELL TOXINS – Sauna! I spent about 15 minutes in the sauna, left to have a cold shower and returned for a further 10 minutes. I feel like I need to sweat those toxins out of my face! Another way to do this would be to go for a run or bike ride, which I am unable to do due to a back injury. So I sweated the only way I knew how!

 NOURISH – My face needs food! I tried two home made treatments to bring some life back into my skin – the first was a homemade scrub made from sugar, oil & an essential oil that smelt really yummy! (it was a gift from my housemates girlfriend so I don’t know exactly what she put in it). Just watch out for the sugar and try not to lick your lips as I accidentally did! Next I prepared a home made face mask (recipe below) & let that sit for 15 minutes. My skin actually tingled while it was on, so I hope that is a good sign!

♣♣♣

Mallika’s Face Rescue Mask:

1 tsp Coconut Oil (hard at room temperature)
1-2 small squares of Avocado
1 tsp Yoghurt
1 tsp Oats
Squeeze of Lemon

Put all ingredients except Oats in a bowl and mix, pressing on the sides of the bowl to get all the lumps out. Add the Oats and mix well. Apply to your face after the scrub and leave for 10-15 minutes.

 RELAX – A stroll through the park, a latte at a local cafe and reading my book in the fresh air. Deep breaths, breathing all the way into my stomach and slowly out. Laughing with my man. Watching an episode of Modern Family. All things that relax.

I will update you tomorrow on whether my skin has improved from all this love and attention!

 

One thought on “Skin Rescue – Day 14

  1. Pingback: Weight Loss Update – Day 15 | 8 weeks no sugar

Leave a Reply

