Vegging Out – Day 13 No Sugar

20130910-235105.jpg

Day 13 of no sugar, day 22 of the I Quit Sugar program. My time without sugar feels like just 10 minutes in time but also feels like a lifetime.

I have had another mini food revolution after watching two food documentaries – ‘Sick, Fat & Almost Dead’ and ‘Simply Raw – Reversing Diabetes in 30 days’. There is a new way to go….raw raw raw food! RAW! As I was watching these documentaries, I ate 1/2 small Organic Avocado (raw of course)…and while I was putting the 2nd spoonful in my mouth, my body was already actually tingling. The avocado felt like it was imparting its life gift into me…is this what eating organic & eating raw is all about?!? I don’t know if I can do it for every meal yet, but I am going to try and eat more of my food raw, especially as it is starting to come into Summer. Always easier to eat salads when its warm!

20130910-235056.jpg

Yummy (expensive) Organic Kale!

I also bought Kale for the first time ever. And it cost $4.80 for an Organic bunch – steep! But once I’m home I realise that you can get a lot out of a little with Kale. To continue the RAW theme, I had an amazing raw salad, see link below. It was delightful & looked so alive I could hardly believe my luck at being able to eat it. I also baked up some Kale Chips in the oven…yummy little crunchy snacks to eat up in the next week or two.

20130910-235046.jpg

Green & Purple Summery Salad

Food eaten today (Tuesday)…DAY 13 “NO SUGAR”
BREAKFAST: Yummy Healthy Porridge, Black Tea with Milk.
SNACK: home made chocolate milkshake (milk, cacao powder, coconut creme, chia seeds, almond slivers, roasted coconut & 1 drop vanilla essence), 1/2 a small organic Avocado with 1 tsp Olive Oil
LUNCH: Green & Purple Summery Salad (it looked so alive!)
SNACK: Yoghurt with home made Granola, Sencha Green Tea
DINNER: Veal Shank (note: not nearly as nice as Lamb Shanks!), pumpkin mash & Lemony Gremolata
SNACK: Chai Tea (teabag) with Milk, 3 x raw cacao spoons

3 thoughts on “Vegging Out – Day 13 No Sugar

  1. Marisa

    Hi there. I am following the I Quit Sugar program as well. Really love hearing what you have to say, as well as the fact that I get some good ideas from your menus. Raw cacao spoons sound great. Will have to try some! Am wondering about any detox symptoms you are having besides those mentioned. I have really achey joints. You?

    Reply
    1. ML Post author

      Hi Marisa,
      I did have aching muscles around my shoulders and neck last week, probably from quitting sugar! I am still getting headaches on and off throughout the day and fluctuating energy levels…I just did an update today (day 15!) of my weight loss, detox and cravings – thanks for your questions because it made me think! A few days ago (actually Day 1 of absolutely no sugar) I did a list of withdrawal symptoms, and I pretty much ticked all of them! It’s pretty ouch! Keep in touch with how you are going!! x

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Skin Rescue – Day 14 | 8 weeks no sugar

Leave a Reply

