Trial ‘I Quit Sugar’ day

Today I have attempted to follow the guidelines of ‘I Quit Sugar’ and well…eat no sugar! But with a few hiccups along the way. I had a great no-sugar breakfast, tasted good and kept my energy levels going. Think I was quite shocked that a no sugar Porridge could actually taste OK! The ‘I Quit Sugar’ program recommends no fruit, at least for the first 6 weeks…but I did eat some naughty fruit during the day – a banana, a strawberry and 5 purple grapes…and 2 slices of ‘discouraged’ multigrain toast.

It wasn’t hard to avoid sugar today, I didn’t have cravings and I felt pretty OK all day. As I am writing this at 10.30pm however, I can feel hunger pains starting. Hopefully I will fall asleep soon so I don’t notice them too badly! In the ‘I Quit Sugar’ book, Sarah Wilson does talk about hunger pains while giving up…and Soraya my natropathy guru friend also talked about this.

SUCCESS WITH NO SUGAR: 3 (1 = absolutely no sugar, 10 = disaster territory)
DIFFICULTY: 2 (1 = very easy, 10 = very hard)
MOOD: Calm, although minor levels of annoyance detected under the surface

A run down of the food I ate today in preparation for ‘I Quit Sugar’:

BREAKFAST: Porridge cooked with Water & 1 teaspoon of Coconut Milk, Dressed with 1 teaspoon Cinnamon, 1 tablespoon Organic Wholemilk Yoghurt & 1/2 cup Full Fat Milk
Black tea with Full Fat Milk
SNACK: 2 slices Multigrain Toast with Danish Fetta & Vegemite
LUNCH: 1 Banana, Lettuce, Carrot & Danish Fetta salad
DINNER: (I ate out at an event)
Mixed mini sandwiches (6), 2 plain crackers with camembert cheese, 1 strawberry, 5 purple grapes, 5 roasted almonds, Black tea with Full Fat Milk
SNACK: Black tea with Full Fat Milk

Update: 2am
I’m starving!!!!!!! These hunger pains are brutal. I’m amazed that one day without much sugar & I can’t sleep because I’m so hungry. At about midnight I had a piece of toast with melted cheese but it didn’t even touch the sides. I’m not sure what to do about it…grrrrr

*If you would like to join the ‘I Quit Sugar’ program – the next one starts on 26th August 2013 with the second program planned for February 2014. Click the ‘I Quit Sugar’ link on the right hand side of the page to get taken to their site (the link will appear at the very bottom of these posts if you are using a mobile to view the site).

One thought on “Trial ‘I Quit Sugar’ day

  1. Pingback: What to do when the sugar craving hits | 8 weeks no sugar

Leave a Reply

